Home Forums Motorcycle Tech Talk R1100R rear-ended by car

Viewing 11 posts - 1 through 11 (of 11 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hi allI bought a R1100R online a few months ago, even went to check it out beforehand but this still slipped past me. It looks like it has been hit by a car from the back, and this has damaged the connection between swingarm/wheel, the biggest problem being that the brake disc is misaligned and can be seen causing the caliper to wave left/right by almost a centimeter when you put the bike on center stand and let it idle in first gear.It doesnt seem like the wheel itself is misaligned though, so either the previous owner had at least fixed that already, or it had never become misaligned in the first place. Even at speed everything feels stable, and I had been riding the bike for a couple of months before I even noticed this problem - of course I felt the 'bumpiness' in the rear brake but I had put it down to dodgy ABS.Anyway, the question is, will this require fixing for a warrant? I am actually overseas at the moment thinking to bring the bike to NZ early next year, and just trying to sum up my options.Thx

Anonymous
    Inactive