Home Forums General Discussion Getting the most from my bike.

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 34 total)
  • Author
    Participant

To the BMW IndexMy problem is that I have just got back to serious motor bike riding and consequently will struggle to convince you all of my pet hobby horse. However I’m alarmed at the riders I meet that struggle with or who have no knowledge of riding safely through corners (twisties) correctly.My credentials are in Motor Racing and after 35 years I have moved on to more leisure pursuits. However the dynamics and physics behind cornering are no different between cars and bikes. During my twenties I worked for Bruce McClaren Can-Am, Bruce McClaren was light years ahead of his peers and many a long night was spent discussing the theories behind the forces developed during cornering. I completed an engineering degree and studied on this very subject. The passion is still very active and hence when I see bikers, who! Incidentally believe that they have it worked out are actually struggling I wished I could help.So instead of thinking it “I have decided to test the waters”One of the saddest sights, are those crosses marking fatal accidents that happen around corners and if you look at where they are positioned and have a little knowledge of the entry and exit of a corner, most did not need to happen. It would be so good for every driver, especially the young, be motorbike or car to attend some driver instruction on a racetrack or just driver instruction. Last week I went on two rides through some nice twisty stuff, on one of these rides I stopped at a Tavern for some liquid and joined up with a bunch of Motor Guzzi riders. They told me that my BMW was a Guzzi with flat tits. Nice bike but boring. They were good folk and very keen on the wonderful attributes of cornering through the twisties. A week before this meeting I had meet, at the same tavern another group of riders and decided to hang around and ride home with them, back across