Home Forums General Discussion Fuel Economy

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hi dear BMWOR MemberMatthias from Nelson here.  I am involved with the development of a digital speedo/odo/whatever board-computer, developed in Germany especially for motorbikes, any motorbike.  I have been using mine for close to 7 years and it hasn't missed a beat.  Some of you guys may have seen it on our rides.Unlike the original BMW instruments it is water-proof, doesn't fog up, the needles don't wobble in the cold (of course it hasn't got needles/arms), it reads onboard voltage, there's a calendar-clock, and if you have the sensors it will read oil temperature, water temperature, ambient temperature, does a rally/roadbook down to 10m accuracy with zeroing, warns you about electric faults (charging issues), it has got 2 trip counters, a tank km counter etc… too many features to list.  It replaces the entire instrumentation as you know it, including pilot lights for oil, charging, neutral, high beam, as well as instrument lighting (the display simply lights up when it's dark enough).Anyway, this wasn't intended as some blatant advertising  :o, I have no interest in this enterprise whatsoever, I just think the effort of building this thing is cool and have supported the 2 guys (!) that make it, where I can.  For example by translating the display into English.  This is where it gets interesting, and where I'd like your opinion for the next step in the development.When it comes to fuel consumption, in many Western countries the metric system of X litres per 100 km is widely used, and now also by the AA and other publications.  Anecdotally many folks refer to miles per gallon, even though distances between places are no longer measured in miles nor are gallons dispensed.  So I would like to know from you, if you had such an instrument, and it could show you your consumption (you'll have to enter the amount of fuel to make it work, of course), what