Home Forums Motorcycle Tech Talk F650GS Tyre repair

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author

For our trip to the Annual Rally I've bought some tyre irons and a tube repair kit. Then I checked out the tools that come with the bike. I am glad I did. You can't actually take the wheels off with those tools and you need to for a puncture repair.The R1150Gs has the tools to take the wheels off, but as they are tubeless tyres, you don't actually need to take them off. Now I'll be carrying the tools for this trip. I also had a cheap Warehouse electric air-pump sitting around. I took off the plastic housing and was amazed how little bulk there is left. The actual pump fits in the palm of your hand, not counting the hose. I've been using the pump for a couple of years now and it still works well. It will be coming with us.I would not normally bother with all this stuff, but I figured that even though I've never had a puncture on my bikes before it will  eventually happen at the worst possible time half way up the Nevis. All other problems will have to be fixed by Mr.Visa. I take it there will be no cellphone coverage in any of those areas.

Anonymous
    Inactive

Yes you are right, I carry these things with me all the time  🙂I would add a valve removal toolThey are difficult to do, I had problems with the last one I had, so I never look forward to it  🙁Have a good tripCheers

dave.valma
    Participant

for v/v removal you can still get the v/v caps with the 2 lugs on them. one on each wheel and you will have a spare as well.

Sonya Ellis
    Participant