Home Forums Rides Calendar 42nd Traverse, interested? (Oct.4 & 5)

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 80 total)
  • Author
    Keymaster

I want to do the 42nd Traverse on the weekend of the 4th of October. The idea is to ride as much gravel as possible to Owhango. Spend the night at the pub and head off in the morning towards Taurewa. The entry to the track is on Kapoor Rd,  somewhere just beforeTaurewa. We'd then do the track 2-3 hours and come out at Qwhango again. Have lunch at “Out of the Fog” and then ride back to Auckland. It's Daylight savings weekend, so Sunday should gain us a bit more daylight.I have never done this track before. I know that it has couple of steep downhill sections. Your bike should have off-road capable tyres and you should be reasonably experienced, or very experienced if riding a big bike. Actually, I don't know if a big GS can do this. The 42 Traverse is an old logging road that cuts through Tongariro Forest and is popular with mountain bikers for its challenging terrain and suberb views. It gets it’s name from the original State Forest 42 as well as being 42km long.4WD vehicle access on the 42 Traverse is open between 1 December and 30 April only, and 4WD vehicles are not permitted off this route. There is no acess to any other roads off the 42 Traverse. This is a rough 4WD track unsuitable for SUV's, and recovery gear should always be taken with you. Care is needed as river levels can rise quickly after rain. Always cross waterways only after checking they are safe.This track is gaining popularity among mountain bikers for it’s challenging terrain and superb views. The ride takes approximately 6-8 hours from Kapoors Rd to Owhango, with several river crossings, taking in regenerating forest, the awesome Canyon valley and finishing with a fantastic downhill.Riders should equip themselves with appropriate clothing and equipment, spare brake pads, map and compass and food and drinkPlease let me know if you are interested. I have no int